India National Elections 2024: Voting Begins Across 17 States and 4 UTs

Get the latest updates on India’s 2024 Lok Sabha elections as voting kicks off in 17 states and 4 Union Territories. Stay informed!

India National Elections 2024: Voting Begins Across 17 States and 4 UTs ( image credit: X/@ThePrintIndia)
  • Voters and Constituencies

In a significant democratic exercise, India has commenced voting for the 2024 Lok Sabha elections. The first phase of voting covers 102 constituencies across 21 states and Union Territories. Here are the key details:

A staggering 160 million voters are participating in this initial phase.

The constituencies span 17 states and 4 Union Territories.

Notable states include Tamil Nadu, Rajasthan, Uttar Pradesh, Madhya Pradesh, Uttarakhand, and Arunachal Pradesh.

  • Contenders:

The ruling Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) is leading a frenzied campaign, aiming to secure 370 out of 543 Lok Sabha seats. Prime Minister Narendra Modi has set an ambitious target of 400 seats for the National Democratic Alliance (NDA).

The opposition bloc, INDIA, is determined to challenge the BJP’s dominance. Despite internal disarray, they are standing together in this crucial battle for democracy.

  • Key Battles:

The BJP hopes to sweep the Hindi heartland, dominate Jammu in the north, and secure Gujarat in the west.

INDIA, while facing challenges, is putting up a united front against the BJP. However, in some pockets, parties are competing against each other, flouting the rule of one-on-one contests.

  • State Assemblies:

Alongside the Lok Sabha elections, four states—Andhra Pradesh, Odisha, Sikkim, and Arunachal Pradesh—are also electing new assemblies.

Arunachal Pradesh (60 seats) and Sikkim (32 seats) are among the first to cast their votes.

  • High Stakes:

This election is crucial for both the ruling party and the opposition.

The BJP seeks a hat-trick, while INDIA aims to halt Modi’s momentum.

As the voting process unfolds, India watches closely, aware that the outcome will shape the nation’s future. The next six weeks will witness more phases of voting, with each phase carrying its own significance. 

2 thoughts on “India National Elections 2024: Voting Begins Across 17 States and 4 UTs”

Leave a Comment